This project entailed the renovation of the former Hillel House, to serve as BU’s new Admissions Center. Named after its donors, Alan and Sherry Leventhal, it will be the gateway to the BU campus experience. Designed by Goody Clancy, Columbia restored the 233 Bay State Road (c. 1953) building and enlarged it by 2,500 sf with a glass addition.
Careful consideration was devoted to the design of this project. The main entry was reconfigured, highlighted with a new canopy. Windows were replaced, and masonry and mortar were repaired in keeping with the design of the original building. The glass addition was constructed on the north side of the building, along Storrow Drive, improving access and circulation within the building while enhancing views of the Charles River. Structural modifications and the installation of all new building systems were included. Site improvements include an expanded plaza, sidewalks and the realignment of roadways.
Since 2005 Columbia has been working on the BU campus, completing over $20 million in a number of renovation and new construction projects to-date.